An Update for when Life doesn’t go as Planned….

Portrait of stressed woman having head pain
Source: http://www.playbuzz.com

I’m sure we all had an idea of what our lives would plan out in the next 5 years. I saw myself graduating college, going straight into grad school, finding my dream career and husband and being married at age 25. Now, having recently turning 24, I laugh and go “aww” at my ambition.

It’s great to have plans and set goals, but at the same time, life will hit you with curveballs that you just didn’t account for. I didn’t get into grad school the first time. Or the second time. Or the third. (Forgot how competitive my field is). I’m not engaged or even in a steady relationship. But for many of my friends, my plan came true for them. Many of them entered grad school and my social media is flooded with engagement pictures and sappy captions.

And there are days where you wonder: “Did I do something wrong?” “Why are they living my dream now?” “I feel stuck. I feel left behind.”

After chatting with some friends, doing a little soul searching, and a glass or 2 of wine later, I came to accept my current place in life. I may not be where I want to be, but I am where I’m supposed to be. It’s so easy to focus on what you don’t have and forget about the many things you do have.

I’m not in grad school now or diagnosing speech disorders in a classroom, but I did get hired as an assistant teacher to one day become the Spanish Immersion teacher. And who doesn’t want to teach adorable little kids Spanish? I’ve gotten to work so closely with the teens in my parish and to watch them grow and become future leaders themselves is probably the most rewarding part of the year.

So there isn’t a special someone in my life, but I’ve been blessed with the greatest friends who constantly show me their love and appreciation for our friendship.

I’ve worked and edited my poetry which is on Instagram now if you choose to follow (instagram.com/stellerez) which will one day become a book if God allows.

There’s so many things that I’ve done that I’m super proud of that I can’t write (cause it would be a suupeeer long post) but this update post is just a reassurance that life doesn’t go according to plan and that’s okay. We all have our unique journey towards life and we don’t all have to achieve it at the same time. There is no deadline for any of your dreams so if it takes you longer than others, it’s okay. We’ll be cheering you on until you make it.

Leave a comment